Office of Fire Service Training Receives National Council on Professional Qualifications for Fire Service Accreditation


January 21, 2022

DES MOINES, IOWA- The Iowa Department of Public Safety, State Fire Marshal’s Division is pleased to announce that the Office of Fire Service Training has received full accreditation from the National Board of Professional Services Qualifications. (ProBoard®). The goal of the ProBoard® is to establish an internationally recognized means of recognizing professional achievement in the fire service. Its main objective is the accreditation of bodies that certify firefighters, both volunteers and professionals.

“Receiving full accreditation from ProBoard® demonstrates that the policies, procedures and processes of the Fire Service Training Bureau meet national standards for training and certification of Iowa firefighters,” said John Kraemer, Chief of Fire Service Training. Office. “Agencies that achieve ProBoard® accreditation are recognized as having passed the rigors of review by an independent third-party organization. This independent, third-party review is the best way to assure applicants and governing bodies that the agency’s program meets national standards. »

Iowa State Fire Marshal Dan Wood added, “This is a monumental achievement not only for the Office of Fire Service Training, but for the fire service as well. of the State of Iowa.”

The Office of Fire Services Training accreditation process began several months ago with the submission of an application package, including the completion of a detailed self-assessment document. The application file was then examined by the members of the Accreditation Committee (COA) to ensure that it was complete and compliant with the ProBoard® accreditation criteria. An on-site visit was conducted on December 8 and 9, 2021 by a team of ACO members, who conducted a thorough on-site review of facilities, education, training, testing and certification processes of the agency. Several responders from fire departments across the state were also interviewed by this team as part of the site visit. The site visit team prepared a report and presented it to the COA, who decided to grant full accreditation.

“Receiving this accreditation, in addition to already having accreditation from the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC), ensures that our program meets the standards of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA),” said Gary Howard, responsible for certification and accreditation of the Fire Service Bureau of Services Training.

The Board of Firefighter Training is one of the few firefighter training and certification entities to be dual accredited by the ProBoard® and IFSAC.

The Bureau of Fire Training is designated by law as the State Fire Academy. It has been training Iowa firefighters and other emergency service responders since 1923 and is home to the second longest continuously operating annual state fire school in the nation. The Bureau coordinates and delivers many basic and advanced level courses at our facility and also locally statewide in the areas of firefighting, hazardous materials, vehicle extrication, technical rescue, instructor development, officer development, fire prevention, traffic incident management (TIMS), and fire investigation, among others.

PHOTO: Gary Howard, Director of Certification and Accreditation for the Office of Fire Services Training


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the state’s largest law enforcement agency. It includes six divisions and multiple offices, all working in conjunction with local, state, and federal government agencies and the private sector, to make Iowa a safe place by following our core values: Leadership, Integrity, Professionalism, Courtesy, Service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Criminal Investigation Division, Iowa Counternarcotics Division, Iowa State Patrol, State Fire Marshal’s Division of Iowa, Iowa Intelligence and Fusion Center Division and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Security is headed by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.


About Author

Comments are closed.